SHASTA COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF RESOURCE MANAGEMENT AIR QUALITY MANAGEMENT DISTRICT GUIDELINES FOR OPEN BURNING

WHO IS ALLOWED TO BURN?

Only <u>residents of single- and two-family dwellings</u> are permitted to burn dry vegetation from the yard. Open burning for <u>land-clearing projects</u>, <u>fire hazard reduction</u>, <u>agricultural burning</u>, or <u>prescribed burning</u> is allowed with the required permits.

WHAT IS ALLOWED TO BE BURNED?

You may burn **ONLY** <u>dried vegetation</u> (NO GARBAGE, PAPER, OR CARDBOARD). The California Air Resources Board has adopted a **state-wide prohibition on the use of burn barrels and the burning of paper and cardboard** that became effective on January 1, 2004, <u>except</u> in the following census zip code areas: Big Bend (96011), Castella (96017), Platina (96076), and Whiskeytown (96095). **Burning leaves or lawn clippings is not recommended**. The burning of any other material that might cause a public nuisance is also prohibited. Air drying of green vegetation is required prior to burning and is based on the largest diameter of the branch or trunk being burned. <u>The minimum drying times for green vegetation prior to being burned are:</u>

Diameter less than 6" 15 days drying time
Diameter 12" to 24" 45 days drying time
Diameter 24" or more 60 days drying time

DO YOU NEED A PERMIT?

Open Burning Permits are required for burning <u>inside the city limits and/or fire districts of Redding, Cottonwood, and Shasta Lake</u>. Residential burn permits are not required in the Anderson Fire District. CAL Fire Burn permits are required for County residents from May 1st until fire season is declared over. CAL Fire Burn Permits can be obtained online at: https://burnpermit.fire.ca.gov/ Permits may be obtained from the appropriate fire department (telephone numbers are listed at the end of this handout). A fee may be required by some districts.

If you are burning material associated with <u>property being developed for commercial or residential purposes</u>, or material associated with <u>brush clearance for fire hazard reduction</u>, you must have all material free of stumps and dirt and obtain a burn permit from the Shasta County Air Quality Management District (AQMD). Burn permit fees must be paid to the AQMD in accordance with Rule 2:11; Fees, and **an AQMD inspection may be conducted** to verify the absence of stumps and dirt in any piles formed for burning. Refer to attachment for applicable fees.

If you are doing <u>agricultural burning</u>, you must obtain a burn permit and pay the applicable District burn permit fees to the AQMD. <u>Prescribed burning</u> (Wildland Vegetation Management, Range Improvement, or Forest Management) greater than 10 acres or that would produce more than 1 ton of particulate matter emissions, requires that a Smoke Management Plan be filed with the District in addition to payment of the burn permit fees to the AQMD. Refer to attachment for applicable fees.

WHEN ARE YOU ALLOWED TO BURN?

Burning is allowed only on designated Burn Days which are so designated by CAL Fire and the California Air Resources Board, based on atmospheric temperatures, pressures, and wind conditions. If sufficient dispersion is forecast, a day is designated "permissive burn." When weather conditions are unfavorable, a "no burn" notice is issued. The recorded burn day information reflects the current days designation and is updated at 9:00 am daily.

WHAT ABOUT FIRE SAFETY?

CalFire, the U.S. Forest Service, and your local fire districts are concerned about your safety and the safety of your neighbors. A day that is designated a "permissive" burn day on the basis of air quality may, in fact, be too windy or dry in terms of fire safety. The daily burn day recording will reflect a "no burn" designation due to fire danger. Please contact the appropriate organization listed at the bottom of this page for current fire-safety regulations.

Recorded burn day information can be obtained daily by calling:

Redding (530) 224-8777 after 9:00 a.m. Burney/Lakehead/Shingletown (800) 411-8728 after 9:00 a.m.

Or go to: www.shastacounty.gov/air-quality Click: the link to Burn Day Information. Only for weekday burn designations, after 9:00 a.m.

Burning hours are restricted in all areas not to exceed the following:

WHEN WHERE

Fire may be ignited between 9 a.m. and 3 p.m. Fire must Elevations below 1,000 feet.

be completely out by 5 p.m.

Fire may be ignited between 9 a.m. and 10 p.m. Fire must Elevations above 1,000 feet.

be completely out by 12 Midnight.

(Or as determined by fire authority.)

<u>Check with your local fire department</u> (city, Cal Fire, and/or USFS). If their times are more restrictive, you must adhere to them.

WHAT IS THE PENALTY FOR NOT FOLLOWING THE OPEN BURNING GUIDELINES?

The Mutual Settlement Policy Penalty Schedule (Revised 8/24/04) is as follows:

Health & Safety Code Section 41700

Causing a nuisance, endangering comfort, health or safety, or causing damage

to business or property \$1,000

Health & Safety Code Section 41701

Opacity violation of this section or any

District limitation \$500 to \$1,000

AQMD Rules & Regulations

Failure to obtain open burning permit	\$ 500
Burning illegal material	\$1,000
Violating a condition of your burning permit	\$1,000

Add \$500 for additional violations, to a maximum penalty of \$1,000.

An open burning violation that occurs when burning is prohibited is considered as a failure to obtain an open burning permit.

CALIFORNIA HEALTH AND SAFETY CODE MAXIMUM LIABILITY FOR VIOLATIONS

The Mutual Settlement Policy shown above allows for the settlement of violations through payment of a penalty amount and agreeing to other conditions without going to court. Once a violation is referred to the courts, the maximum liability for that violation could be substantially more than the settlement penalty amount. A violation of the District Rules and Regulations and the *California Health and Safety Code* (CH&SC) sections may be prosecuted either as a civil or criminal violation. The maximum penalty for a procedural violation (CH&SC Sections 42400 and 42402) is \$1,000 and/or six months in the county jail. Burning without a permit is a procedural violation. The maximum penalty for a violation involving emissions of air contaminants (CH&SC Sections 42400.3 and 42402.3) is \$75,000 and/or one year in the county jail. Burning illegal or toxic material is a violation of these sections.

CLIP AND SAVE THIS SECTION

WHO SHOULD YOU CONTACT FOR MORE INFORMATION?

Anderson Fire Protection District	378-6699	
CAL Fire	225-2418	https://burnpermit.fire.ca.gov/
Cottonwood Fire Department	347-4737	
Redding Fire Department	225-4141	https://www.cityofredding.org
Shasta County Air Quality Management District	225-5674	www.shastacounty.gov/air-quality
Shasta Lake Fire Protection District	275-7474	

Direct questions or complaints to the Shasta County Air Quality Management District 530-225-5674 or 1-800-528-2850. Revised 10/13/23

ATTACHMENT TO GUIDELINES FOR OPEN BURNING

Rule 2:11; <u>Fees</u>: (Burn Permit Section Only)

- b. Air Quality Management Burning Permits
 - 1. To ensure compliance with all applicable Air Quality Management District (AQMD) burning regulations, the holder of, or applicant for, any open burning permit shall pay the required Basin Control Council Fee, as well as any applicable Burn Permit and/or Acreage Fee as outlined below:

The following schedule outlines the current charges for District open burning permits:

a.	Agricultural Burning (for the growing of crops or raising of fowls or animal		
	1) Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866)	\$ 5	
	2) Agricultural Burn Permit	\$ 30	
	3) Acreage Fee (Field Crop)	\$0.50/acre	
	4) Acreage Fee (Ag Waste/Other)	\$0.50/acre	
b.	Prescribed Burning (for Forest Management, Rangeland Improvement, and Wildlam Vegetation Management Burning)		
	1) Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866)	\$ 5	
	2) Agricultural Burn Permit	\$ 30	
	3) Acreage Fee (Forest Management)	\$0.50/acre	
	4) Acreage Fee (Rangeland Improvement)	\$0.50/acre	
	5) Acreage Fee (Wildland Vegetation Management)	\$0.50/acre	
c.	Land Clearing Burning (for commercial or residential development)		
	1) Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866)	\$ 5	
	2) Land Clearing Burn Permit	\$ 30	
d.	Fire Hazard Reduction Burning (for brush clearance)		
	1) Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866)	\$ 5	
	2) Fire Hazard Burn Permit (10 acres or less)	\$10	
	3) Fire Hazard Burn Permit (More than 10 acres)	\$ 30	
e.	Mechanized Burner Use (Mechanized Burners shall obtain permits as sta 2:1A, 2:6, and 2:11)	ted in Rules	
	1) Basin Control Council Fee (H&SC 41866)	\$ 5	
	2) Mechanized Burner Burn Permit	\$ 30	

f. Residential Burning

(Amended 4-10-90 and 7-17-01)

No fee is required for residential burning that is conducted in accordance with District Rules 2:6 and 2:7, provided that the burning project is not associated with property being developed for commercial or residential purposes or fire hazard reduction. (Added 7-17-01)