

### **REGISTERED PROCESS SERVER**

# INDIVIDUAL COUNTY OF SHASTA

This space reserved for County Clerk use.

Personal Information - Complete all information requested.		
•	: I am a resident of the County s is in the County of Shasta, S	v of Shasta, State of California and/or my tate of California.
Name:		Age:
Address:		
immediately preceding the server in compliance with	e filing of this certificate. I will perfect the provisions of law governing perjury under the laws of the S	sident of this state for a period of one year perform my duties as a registered process g the service of process in this state. State of California that all information on this
Signature:	See Revers	Date: se
Office Use Only		
Registration #:	Start Date:	Expiration Date:

(2 yrs from date of filing/renewal of registration or expiration of the bond.)

(For Renewals - A new # must be assigned if there has been a lapse in registration longer than 3 years.)

## To register as a Process Server, appear in person at the Shasta County Clerk's Office: 1450 Court Street, Suite 108, Redding CA 96001 with the following:

- Completed Registration Form.
- Live Scan form from Live Scan agency. (Obtain Live Scan form from County Clerk BEFORE going to fingerprinting agency.)
- Valid picture identification.
- Process Server Bond in the amount of \$2,000 in the name of the person that is registering. You may
  also post \$2,000.00 in cash. If you are unable to find a bonding company, contact the Process Server
  Institute at (415) 495-3850 and they will provide names of bonding companies. The bond should
  commence the day you file the certificate with the County Clerk.
- Filing Fee \$131 for each registration, this includes the \$14 standard bond recording fee and one ID card. Additional bond pages are \$3 each.

#### **BUSINESS AND PROFESSIONS CODE**

#### 22351 - Certificate of Registration of a Process Server

- (a) The certificate of registration of a registrant who is a natural person shall contain the following:
- (1) The name, age, address, and telephone number of the registrant.
- (2) A statement signed by the registrant under penalty of perjury, that the registrant has not been convicted of a felony.
- (3) A statement that the registrant has been a resident of this state for a period of one year immediately preceding the filing of the certificate.
- (4) A statement that the registrant will perform his or her duties as a process server in compliance with the provisions of law governing the service of process in this state.
- (b) The certificate of registration of a registrant who is a partnership or corporation shall contain the following:
- (1) The names, ages, addresses, and telephone numbers of the general partners or officers.
- (2) A statement signed by the general partners or officers under penalty of perjury, that the general partners or officers have not been convicted of a felony.
- (3) A statement that the partnership or corporation has been organized and existing continuously for a period of one year immediately preceding the filing of the certificate or a responsible managing employee, partner, or officer has been previously registered under this chapter.
- (4) A statement that the partnership or corporation will perform its duties as a process server in compliance with the provisions of law governing the service of process in this state.

#### 22351.5 - Fingerprints

- (a) At the time of filing the initial certificate of registration, the registrant shall also submit two complete fingerprint cards, for submission to the Department of Justice and the Federal Bureau of Investigation, in order to verify that the registrant has not been convicted of a felony. (Shasta County uses Live Scan in place of fingerprint cards. See below.)
- (b) If, after processing the completed fingerprint cards, the clerk is advised that the registrant has been convicted of a felony, the presiding judge of the Superior Court of the county in which the certificate of registration is maintained is authorized to review the criminal record and notify the registrant that the registration is revoked.

#### 22352 - Fees

At the time of filing the initial certificate of registration, a registrant shall pay the following fees to the county clerk:

- (a) A fee of one hundred dollars (\$100.00).
- (b) A fee to cover the actual costs of processing the completed fingerprint cards when submitted with the initial certificate of registration.
- (c) A fee to cover the actual cost of issuing a registered process server identification card.

#### 22355 - ID Cards

Requires the County Clerk to issue a TEMPORARY ID Card FOR NO ADDITIONAL FEE, for registered process servers who are required to submit fingerprint cards for background checks to the FBI & DOJ. The temporary ID card shall be valid for 120 days. If clearance is received from the FBI & DOJ within 120 days, the County Clerk shall immediately issue the permanent 2-year ID card to applicants. Upon request of the applicant, the permanent identification card shall be mailed to the applicant at his or her address of record.